Homepage Copyright Contact us Sitemap Downloads Links
A visit to Lake Habbema and the stunningly beautiful alpine plateau in the shadow of Peak Trikora in the Wamena area of the Snow Mountains ranks as a spiritual experience and the rewards for bird enthusiasts are quite simply out of this world.

Indonesian visa regulations

Immigration regulations with regard to tourism in the Republic of Indonesia were last formally altered on March 21, 2016, and the current state of affairs is summarized here below. Please be advised that in order to enter Indonesia your international passport must be valid for at least another six months on the day of arrival, and that an onward or return ticket is compulsory.

Visa Exemption Short Visit

As of March 21, 2016, nationals of the following 169 countries and territories are eligible to enter and remain in the Republic of Indonesia for 30 days under the visa waiver program known as Visa Exemption Short Visit or Bebas Visa Kunjungan Singkat (BVKS) in Indonesian: Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Canada, Cape Verde, Chad, Chile, China, Comoros, Costa Rica, Cote D'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, HongKong SAR, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau SAR, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and Grenadines, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

If you are a national of one of the above 169 countries or territories, then you will be issued free of charge upon arrival in Indonesia with a non-extendable and inconvertible 30-day stay permit in the form of an immigration stamp in your international passport. In order to process your Visa Exemption Short Visit at the airport of your arrival, proceed directly to the main immigration clearance counters set up before the baggage claim area.

The Visa Exemption Short Visit is available at 29 airports, 88 seaports and seven land borders.

Visa on Arrival

Nationals of the following 67 countries are eligible to purchase a Visa on Arrival (VoA): Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Latvia, Libia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Maldives, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Timor Leste, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, and United States of America.

If you are a national of one of the above 67 countries, then you can opt to purchase a Visa on Arrival which takes the form of a sticker to be applied in your international passport and currently costs USD 35 for a 30-day visa. The only sensible reason why you might opt for the payable Visa on Arrival (as opposed to the free Visa Exemption Short Visit outlined above) is that this can be extended once for another 30 days at immigration offices throughout Indonesia. In order to process your Visa on Arrival at the airport of your arrival, first proceed to the designated Visa on Arrival counters where the visa in question must be purchased and will be applied in your international passport, then proceed to the main immigration clearance counters set up before the baggage claim area, where your immigration entry stamp will be applied.

The Visa on Arrival facility is only available at limited international gateways: the airports Polonia (Medan, Sumatra), Sultan Syarif Kasim II (Pekanbaru, Sumatra), Tabing (Padang, Sumatra), Soekarno-Hatta (Jakarta, Java), Halim Perdana Kusuma (Jakarta, Java), Adi Sucipto (Yogyakarta, Java), Adi Juanda (Surabaya, Java), Adi Sumarno (Surakarta, Java), Ngurah Rai (Denpasar, Bali), Selaparang (Mataram, Lombok), Sepinggan (Balikpapan, Kalimantan), Sultan Hasanuddin (Ujung Pandang, Sulawesi), Sam Ratulangi (Manado, Sulawesi), and Eltari (Kupang, Timor); and the seaports Sibolga (Sibolga), Belawan (Medan, Sumatra), Teluk Bayur (Padang, Sumatra), Yos Sudarso (Dumai, Sumatra), Tanjung Balaikarimun (Tanjung Balaikarimun), Batam Centre, Batu Ampar, Marina Teluk Senimba, Nongsa and Sekupang (Batam), Bandar Bintan Telani Lagoi and Bandar Sri Udana Loban (Tanjung Uban, Bintan), Sri Bintan (Tanjung Pinang), Tanjung Priok (Jakarta, Java), Tanjung Mas (Semarang, Java), Benoa and Padang Bai (Bali), Soekarno-Hatta (Ujung Pandang), Pare-Pare (Pare-Pare, Sulawesi), Bitung (Manado, Sulawesi), Maumere (Flores), Tenau (Kupang, Timor), and Jayapura (Papua).

Applying for visas at overseas diplomatic missions

Nationals of countries and territories not eligible to enter the Republic of Indonesia under the Visa Exemption Short Visit or Visa on Arrival facilities outlined above, must apply for a tourist visa at one of the Indonesian diplomatic missions overseas. Please be advised that visa processing ordinarily takes three working days, so plan well ahead. At the Indonesian Embassy in Brussels, Belgium, a tourist visa costs EUR 30 for a 30-day's stay or EUR 50 for 60 days. We are informed that 60-day visas apparently are not readily issued everywhere and may require a valid reason.